A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Join us for fun, contests and discussions on Craftster's Facebook page!
Total Members: 295,086
Currently Running With Scissors:
727 Guests and 31 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: I want to try to make a purse....need advice!  (Read 460 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

chutzpaw
ravelry and etsy id: KellyRenee77

View Profile
« on: March 30, 2009 02:09:50 PM »

I'm a pretty newbie to crochet, but I am kinda tired of scarves.  I thought about what I'd like to make, and I'd love to try and make a purse.  I like the shape/size of the Louis Vuitton Speedys. 

http://ethicalstyle.com/wp-content/uploads/louis-vuitton-speedy.jpg

As I'm sure many of you know, they use one piece of material for the front, bottom and back, which I thought would make it easier to crochet.  Make one front/bottom/back piece and two side pieces, and stitch them together.  But then I need to know the following:

1. How do I keep the thing from being all floppy?  I'm thinking maybe crochet two layers of this front/bottom/back piece and put some cardboard or interfacing in the middle?

2.  How do I attach the handles in such a way that I can fill up and carry the purse without stretching out all the stitches?

3.  How in the heck do you attach a zipper to a crochet row??

4.  What else don't I know? 

Thanks for the advice!!!
« Last Edit: March 30, 2009 07:16:10 PM by antarcticraft - Reason: Removed hotlinked image. » THIS ROCKS   Logged
fantasticmio
Tutorial Contributor

Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

Yarn Hacker

Smells like chicken!

View Profile WWW