A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Please remember to SEARCH before asking a question that may have already been answered. Thanks!
Total Members: 304,867
Currently Running With Scissors:
394 Guests and 16 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: 1 2 [All]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Crocheting with Arthritis  (Read 3782 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

bbms_mom
« on: March 02, 2009 10:30:12 AM »

Hi there,

I am a 35yr old, self taught crochet addict.(lol) I also have arthritis. It has become very frustrating, dealing with it, when it comes to crocheting, the best advice I recieved by the rheumatologist was to just stop. Well, that just isnt an option.

I was wondering if anyone else with Arthritis or mobility issues have any hints or advice.

thanks !
THIS ROCKS   Logged
dawnsierra
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2009 11:45:12 AM »

Hey there! I'm also a self taught 30-something crochet addict with arthritis! What a small world.. lol

Well mine has gotten a bit better since I started taking calcium (being in your 30s quite often arthritis is due to some kind of calcium deficiency.) Also I take frequent breaks and do a few simple hand stretches before and after crocheting.
I decided when I started to crochet to use the more comfortable method however less 'feminine'.. I grip my hook rather than hold it delicately like a pencil. (Sorry difficult to describe.) Oh and I do find working with thread (which I prefer) tends to be less strenuous on my hands.

Sorry I'm not much help but I do feel your pain. Its such a nuisance when something like arthritis at such a young age interferes with your much loved hobby.