A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: You can get cheap (and legal! Wink) advertising by donating a challenge prize! Go here for more info.
Total Members: 301,503
Currently Running With Scissors:
635 Guests and 12 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Princess Leia  (Read 2027 times)
Tags for this thread: star_wars  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

skankin kiwi
« on: February 01, 2009 11:11:54 AM »

For my "to school" costume (I am a teacher) I made this.  Halloween is a big deal where I work, as it is the one day where students don't have to wear their uniforms, and they get a half day and put on skits.  Anyway, this is the third time in my life I have been Leia, only this time, I had to make a new costume.  (My previous one fit me before I had hips and before, apparently, my arms got buff!)

I didn't use a pattern, I just kind of winged it.  (There was a lot of laying on top of the fabric and marking where my ankles were and that sort of thing!)
I got the cheapest fabric Jo-anne's had to offer.  The belt is made from Diet Pepsi cardboard, painted with some leftover white house paint, topped with more cardboard covered in foil.
I did buy the wig, as my hair is too short to do anything with.  Plus, it was much easier to make those buns when I could put the wig on my husband's head!

This is my "Help me Obi Wan" face.

Pardon my tired face! I stayed up super late the night before Halloween to finish, as I had spent all my evenings for the previous week finishing a costume for one of my high school students.  (Which, sadly, I never did get a picture of!)