A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: When you post a project, remember that you can always click the Modify button to edit the post and add additional information.
Total Members: 300,899
Currently Running With Scissors:
417 Guests and 7 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1] 2  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Check out my head lights (no, not THOSE head lights)  (Read 7238 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Pink Toes
« on: March 05, 2005 08:05:07 PM »

I wish I was a better photographer, but you'll have to take my word (and crappy pictures) for it - these are really cool in person!

What you'll need:

- Plug in under cabinet halogen light (comes in pack of 3 for around $20 at Home Depot)
- Washer with a hole large enough to fit cord of halogen light (they come without the plug attached, so it doesn't have to be too big)
- Drill
- A diamond head drill bit (mine is 3/8" - large enough for the light cord to fit through) - you can use a masonry bit instead... BUT it's MUCH more time consuming - and haven't you always wanted a diamond head drill bit?
- Recycled glass head from Pier 1 ($15)
- A ceiling hook
- Some heavyish and lightish wire

With the diamond head bit (or masonry bit), drill a hole in the center of the top of the head.  Be sure you have a cup of water next to you so you can dunk the bit in to cool it every once in a while.  The head will be a little squirrelly until the bit gets some traction - I found it easiest to hold it tight between my knees.

Once you've made the hole, pull halogen cord through the washer until the washer is resting against the back of the halogen light.