A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
News:  Vote now for your favorite craft challenge entry!  THREE amazing Ticketmaster prizes up for grabs this month.  Who will get one?
Total Members: 301,572
Currently Running With Scissors:
599 Guests and 28 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Yarn Use Question  (Read 390 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

rbitg
« on: December 02, 2008 10:03:44 AM »

Hi! I'm a newbie here. What a great bunch of forums with a lot of talented people.

I haven't done any crocheting for a long time, but I used to do a lot before I had kids. I made a skinny scarf for one daughter to get back in practice, then yesterday I took my other daughter to the store and had her pick out some yarn to make her one too. She picked out some Boucle yarn and I didn't give it any thought until I started working with it. I started with  a G hook, but switched to a J hook since I couldn't see the chain stitches at all. I still can't see them much at all with the J hook, but I managed to sc across it.  I'm working blindly and I keep missing stitches, so my project is shrinking as I go. I'm going to start over. Any suggestions from those of you who have worked with this thin yarn? It has small loops, which are what makes it hard to see the stitches since they fill in all the openings. She keeps telling me not to bother, that she'll pick out something else, but I want to do it with the one she chose. She wants tight stitching, so I'm using sc for all of it. I've just been picking up one loop of the chain and that helps some. It's nice looking, but hard to work with. Thanks!
THIS ROCKS   Logged