A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: When you post a project, remember that you can always click the Modify button to edit the post and add additional information.
Total Members: 299,170
Currently Running With Scissors:
571 Guests and 16 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Orange pillowcase w/zipper TUTORIAL  (Read 2309 times)
Tags for this thread: pillowcase , tutorial  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

pink tarantula
« on: October 05, 2008 08:48:41 AM »

I'm a beginner at sewing, so anytime I make something it feels so good! I tried to put togheter a tutorial for my first ever pillow case with zipper, probably one of the easier projects if you want to learn how to sew. I wish I'd taken more pictures during the making. Here's the finished pillowcase:

Both the pillow and the fabric were found in the storeskrald (a sort of danish trashroom, present in most buildings, but for stuff that is going to be recycled by 1) thrift stores, or 2) other people who may take it (like me), or 3) burnt to make energy for the city). I bought the zipper in a thrift store, so the whole project costed 2 danish kroner.

You need fabric, a zipper, scissors, pins, paper to trace the measure of your pillow case, a sewing machine OR needle and thread (if you wanna sew by hand). Thats it.

Trace the measure of your pillow case on paper (leave about 1,5 or 2 cm more, according to the thickness of the fabric and how it stretches). Pin the paper on fabric and cut the fabric down to the right measureyou need 2 pieces of fabric (with the same exact size).