A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Join us for fun, contests and discussions on Craftster's Facebook page!
Total Members: 296,634
Currently Running With Scissors:
484 Guests and 4 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1] 2  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Serger Suggestions?  (Read 3370 times)
Tags for this thread: serger  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Fraugee728

I have crafting ADHD. Seriously.

View Profile WWW
« on: September 02, 2008 08:54:52 AM »

Hey all!

I've been sewing for over 10 years, but don't have a serger.  I really hate trying to deal with knits on my sewing machine and have decided to purchase a serger.

I had my eye on the  Huskylock 936, since it has the coverstitch as well, but the $1400 sale price (and the sale is now over...) made me just a wee bit shy.  I'm thinking I'll just go with something that doesn't have a coverstitch, since I don't really want to spend that much cash.

I see that Sewing With Nancy has an EZ lock serger for $249, and was wondering if anyone had one of these or has ever tried one out.  Otherwise, if you have a recommendation for a serger that is under $500-$600, I'd be very appreciative!

Thanks! Smiley
« Last Edit: September 02, 2008 08:55:35 AM by Fraugee728 » THIS ROCKS   Logged

Step one:  Collect Underpants
Step two:  ? ? ?
Step three:  Profit!

http://sometimessewist.wordpress.com
SpottedFrog
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2008 12:19:55 PM »

There are plenty of decent sergers under $500. At that price you will have to tame the Threading Diagram Monster, but once you gert the hang of it it's not too terrible.