A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: You can now organize your bookmarks into folders!  Read more here.
Total Members: 302,610
Currently Running With Scissors:
649 Guests and 31 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: New to sewing- seam and hem question  (Read 392 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

Disneykat
« on: June 17, 2008 10:23:18 AM »

hi, I'm pretty new to sewing, as in, I learned how to do a straight stitch 9which wasn't straight really) and just doing that I was hooked. my MIL bought me a machine and I'm taking a class once a week. I went to Joann's today and bought the pre-smocked material by the inch and was wondering....how hard is it to sew a seam (this material you sew a seam and hem it and sew on straps)? What about the hem?

I'm eager to learn how to do it all, but I need to slow down and take it one project at a time really......but those were my pressing questions I had (since I hadn't had a chance to ask the instructor how hard those are).

Is there a specific stitch you use for either one??? Do you use bias tape on all hems or just specific ones?

Katie

THIS ROCKS   Logged

Katie
Wife, mommy, crafter
Aislynn
Miscellaneous Topics Moderator
Sewing in General Moderator

Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2008 11:02:52 AM »