A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Cookie Policy | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Do you know about all of these Craftster features?
Total Members: 315,683
Currently Running With Scissors:
343 Guests and 5 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Lining a dress  (Read 415 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

katisue
« on: May 09, 2008 08:54:32 AM »

Ok, so I'm making this dress:http://www.burdastyle.com/patterns/show/752 with this alteration: http://www.burdastyle.com/howtos/show/221

How on Earth do you line a dress properly?? I've never done it before and am completely lost. The directions aren't that clear on that account, so if anyone knows anythings about this, it would be awesome!  Huh
THIS ROCKS   Logged

Life isn't measured by the number of breathes you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away.

evelynbaxterdesigns.etsy.com
www.myspace.com/evelynbaxterdesigns
mandodeb
Viva Handmade!

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2008 11:29:53 AM »

I am finishing a lined dress today, and am in the middle of lining a second dress.  These are the first time attempts, and I can tell you that it is MUCH easier than I thought!

I am making a blue satin dress with thin spaghetti straps.  The next dress is a halter style dress. 

Both patterns said to make the lining just like the dress. You are cutting the lining bodice, midriff and skirt pieces identical to the dress.