A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Join us for fun, contests and discussions on Craftster's Facebook page!
Total Members: 300,859
Currently Running With Scissors:
837 Guests and 35 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Help with the gauge!  (Read 370 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

AmeliaB555
« on: April 14, 2008 02:46:59 PM »

Ive been knitting for about 2 years and know all of the basics. Since Ill be attending the Knitters Connection in Columbus I figured I better have a knitted piece of clothing to wear. So I went to the LYS and bought Blue Sky Alpacas Dyed Cotton in Sky, the April issue of Knit n Style, and size 8 circs to begin my first sweater the:

Cropped Raglan Cardi

http://www.knitnstyle.com/issues/apr08_gallery.shtml

The gauge for the pattern is 18 sts by 24 rows= 4 in St st with size 8 needles. The gauge for my yarn is 4-5 stitches per inch on size 7-9 needles. I did my gauge swatch after washing and drying my gauge was 16 sts by 24 rows= 4 in St st with size 8 needles. My question is this what will this do to my sweater? Should I invest in size 7 circs or could I make the size down or up to even out the problem?

Thank you for any advice/tips!

Amelia
THIS ROCKS   Logged

Come see my Etsy Store!

www.ameliadesign.et sy.com

Or my blog!

www.ameliab.blogspo t.com
sassy-pants
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2008 03:30:35 PM »

Its a lot easier to make something longer than wider.  I'd say invest in the size 7s (or an interchangeable set, how I love mine!).  Stitch gauge is crucial to making it fit, row gauge can be fudged a little bit. 

Good luck!
THIS ROCKS   Logged