A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: When you post a project, remember that you can always click the Modify button to edit the post and add additional information.
Total Members: 299,125
Currently Running With Scissors:
666 Guests and 13 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Ugghhh....Ideas Needed for 3D Art Projects for High School!  (Read 19609 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

jenncastor

I got it bad [and that ain't good]

View Profile
« on: January 02, 2008 12:35:00 PM »

This is my first year teaching art, and I have three 3D Design classes coming up this semester. Although my degree is in Studio Arts, I mostly work in 2D, so I've been having a bit of difficulty coming up with ideas for my 3D classes....also, the school has very little money in the budget for art (read: NONE!), so I have to be creative. Additionally, the school is very small and in a rural area, so many of the kids I teach have had little exposure to art....

Here are a few project ideas I've come up with so far:

- pop art papier mache food
- soft sculpture using felt or other fabrics
- ceramic boxes (thank God we DO have clay and a kiln!)
- ceramic masks decorated with beads, shells, etc.
- junk/found object sculpture
- wire sculpture
- altered books (kind of a cross between 2d & 3d, but oh well...)
- small-scale box installations (think Joseph Cornell -- but where to get 55 boxes??)

Any other ideas/suggestions/comments would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks!  Smiley
THIS ROCKS   Logged

"There are years that ask questions, and years that answer."
--Zora Neal Hurston

Artwork.
Wists.
SpottedFrog