A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
News 05/06/14: Craftster has gone mobile!  Read the big news here!
Total Members: 296,380
Currently Running With Scissors:
526 Guests and 8 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Toe up socks or not??  (Read 544 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

beckey23
« on: November 07, 2007 05:35:51 PM »

I have been knitting for a few years now and am starting to feel comfortable with branching out and trying some new things. (New for me anyway) I have never done socks, but would like to give them a try. I don't like circular needles much, but I can deal with it. So my question(s) is this: which would be better for a first timer toe up socks or cuff down? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 
THIS ROCKS   Logged

"We all die. The goal isn't to live forever, the goal is to create something that will."
pmack17
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007 09:47:01 PM »

I really really like knitting socks toe up, especially if I am uncertain about how much yarn I have. The hardest part is getting started. It's awkward and fiddly. But it's only for a few stitches and for a round or 2 and then it's over and you can go on your merry way. So, don't be discouraged if the casting on is difficult. It won't last long.

Double pointed needles were awkward for me at first and I was more comfortable with the magic loop. Now, to my surprise, I prefer double points! I can't believe it, but I do.