A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
News 05/06/14: Craftster has gone mobile!  Read the big news here!
Total Members: 296,381
Currently Running With Scissors:
585 Guests and 16 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Can I iron my knitting project?  (Read 1122 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

uniquelydarcy
« on: January 26, 2004 09:31:23 AM »

I'm a beginner knitter, and I'm working on a nice scarf for my fiance.  The yarn is 80/20 wool/acrylic and I did a 4x4 ribbing through the whole thing.  I've noticed that the scarf is bunching up and looks about half as wide as it actually is.  Can I iron it flat?  Is there something else I can do to correct the situation?

Thanks for your help.
THIS ROCKS   Logged
BREEZY
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2004 09:47:47 AM »

I've had problems really similar to this. From what I hear, you can block your project to fix this, even though it's not 100% natural. One way of blocking is to iron it...you may want to experiment with different blocking techniques on a swatch first if your not willing to risk your whole project. Good luck!
THIS ROCKS   Logged
kayray
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2004 09:52:28 AM »

Hi,