A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: If you see a project that you think is awesome and deserves to be a featured project, you can click the THIS ROCKS button to nominate it!
Total Members: 296,739
Currently Running With Scissors:
582 Guests and 23 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: 1 2 [All]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Blossom: Recycled Jeans-Bag  (Read 9504 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

fishie
she of the sea

perfecting neuroticism since 1984

View Profile WWW
« on: August 01, 2007 12:36:19 PM »

I'm not experienced with stencils (yet!) and whenever I try to decorate things, they end up looking cluttered and scary.  So I went for simplicity with this project:

My friends know I'm crafty, so before they head off to the thrift store to donate old things, they ask me if I want to dig through their stuff first.  This was a pair of capris, lined with some fabric my grandma gave me when I was learning to sew about 15 years ago, and an old 1970's button I swiped from my mom's sewing kit when I was little.  The strap is the leftovers from a leg that I narrowed up and sewed to the sides.

Don't mind the wet spot, I was a little impatient to take a picture after ironing on the DIY patches!

Close-up of the flower.  I cut the shape out of two pieces of fabric and sewed them together onto the bag through the button.

These bags are fun, fast, and easy to make, and most of the hard work is already done for you!  Just sew the bottom of the jeans together at the crotch, make the strap and sew it on, and then add the lining.  Viola!  You've got a recycled bag complete with pockets!
THIS ROCKS   Logged