A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Fanatic Friends of Craftster now have the ability to disable ads on Craftster! Read more here.
Total Members: 297,489
Currently Running With Scissors:
553 Guests and 33 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: 1 2 [3]  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Am I knitting wrong?  (Read 1838 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

rozekitten

Glue, buttons, and a wall. Hmmm...

View Profile available for personal swaps
« Reply #20 on: February 28, 2007 08:45:07 PM »

Now I am only a beginner, but I am also a beginner that taught myself.  In fact I am a closet knitter.  I have never knit in front of anyone else besides my fiance and my daughter (2 yr. old).  I can assure you that they could not critique me even if I wanted them to.

My point is this, I don't knit or purl like anyone I know.  My work - turns out the same.  Until that teacher can look at your finished work and tell you how you held your yarn/needles are held, she should not tell you it is wrong.  I agree with everyone else, if you can, get a different teacher.  Good luck, and keep on knitting.
THIS ROCKS   Logged

Calysa
I heart Anegada

~ will craft for peanuts ~

View Profile
« Reply #21 on: March 01, 2007 07:06:18 AM »

I agree - knit whatever way feels comfortable to you, and find a new knitting teacher (or join a knitting group).