A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Curious if a project is for sale, or if someone wants to do a private swap with you?  Please Personal Message the member rather than posting on the thread.
Total Members: 296,614
Currently Running With Scissors:
518 Guests and 9 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Natural Dyes: Tips, Tricks and Resources.  (Read 2060 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

TheBon

We are without leeches or wenches.

View Profile WWW
« on: February 01, 2007 09:42:02 AM »

Alright, I've noticed around that there is definitely interest in natural dyeing. Since I have some experience with this, I'm going to compile some useful information here for folks. Feel free to chime in with additional information!

For starters: Natural dyes will dye both protein and cellulose fibers with equal ease.

Mordants: Mordants are what you use to "fix" the dye to the fiber. Vinegar is not a mordant. A lot of people think that it is, but it is not, and your color/lightfastness is going to vary if you use vinegar as a mordant. Common mordants are alum, iron, copper, and chrome. Chrome is very very dangerous so most people don't recommend you work with it. As with chemical dyes, you must wear your gloves and glasses when mixing mordants or when mixing powdered natural dye extracts into liquid states. You do not want to inhale these things.

Some items that will dye without mordants: onion skins, walnut husks, anything with tannins in it. Most natural dyes need a mordant. You may get a pretty color from beet juice but without mordanting it's not likely to stay that way for the long term.