A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
News 05/06/14: Craftster has gone mobile!  Read the big news here!
Total Members: 297,512
Currently Running With Scissors:
579 Guests and 24 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Finishing Fish Costume  (Read 2014 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

lisaquilts
« on: October 14, 2004 09:34:46 AM »

Greetings Crafters,
I am a newbie, so please forgive any errors in this posting. I am writing to get your suggestions about how to best complete my son's fish costume. I've already made the fish (which I'm calling a Japanese Koi). It iis a three dimensional foam head from either Simplicity or McCall's.

I used satin brocades and gold lame fabrics.

Here's a picture .

The fish sits on his shoulders. I was pleased to have made the fish (the sewing of which was a bear!) months ago. Now that it's finished I don't want to waste the effect by having him wear jeans and a t-shirt. I was thinking of something that could double as pajamas or other clothes. Maybe a long sleeved pj's made out of fleece or flannel (in watery blues, then maybe attach green felt strips to resemble seaweed? Any thoughts?

THIS ROCKS   Logged

Sewing is therapeutic. Long live therapy.
ifoughtpirahna
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2004 09:39:16 AM »

Those were my thoughts... Go with something resembling water.  Does his head stay in the costume?  If not, you could paint his face blue, with bubbles going up the sides.  Mabe you could put lillypads on his clothes or something... good luck, love the fish!
THIS ROCKS   Logged

I saw the best minds of my generation destroyed by madness,