A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Cookie Policy | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
October 5th News Announcement:  New Featured Projects posted!  Congratulate these artists for being selected!
Total Members: 308,435
Currently Running With Scissors:
378 Guests and 11 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: I made glitter shoes! (kinda pic heavy)  (Read 10783 times)
Tags for this thread: shoes , glitter  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
« Reply #30 on: February 11, 2011 03:27:50 AM »

Hi, total newbie here but long time lurker.  I really want to make some myself but I'm not sure what mediums to use, there's so many different kinds of modge podge!  Do I want to use gloss (not the paper kind?) and then top it with the outdoors one?  Or finish with acrylic spray?  I read somewhere that modge podge is just like pva, could I use that to adhere the glitters and then finish it with acrylic spray?  I want to make sure they are waterproof to hold up to the British weather.
I used the gloss, but I don't think it would matter too horribly if you used a different kind of mod podge or even a different kind of glue. I used mod podge because it's a decoupage glue and sealant, but I assume a pva glue would work too. If you want certainty of it being waterproof (since I haven't been able to test mine yet, the ground here being covered in about 20 inches of snow) I would seal it with an outdoor acrylic sealant after covering the shoes in glue and glitter. I'd love to see your shoes when you get them done!
« Reply #31 on: February 11, 2011 08:38:14 AM »