A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Fanatic Friends of Craftster now have the ability to disable ads on Craftster! Read more here.
Total Members: 297,038
Currently Running With Scissors:
444 Guests and 11 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1] 2  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Can you block or iron acrylic yarn?  (Read 2511 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

kitty1256
« on: January 01, 2007 09:32:12 AM »

I am knitting this purse (in 5 pieces then sewing it together), but I finished the front piece, and it is all wonky and needs to either be blocked (that's what my mom said...I've never done it before), or even just ironed out or something.  However, it is made out of acrylic yarn.  Can you iron acrylic yarn?  Or can you block it (whatever that means)?
Thanks!
THIS ROCKS   Logged

soozeq
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2007 09:55:39 AM »

Acrylic doesn't block in the way that wool blocks, but you can wash and dry it and the stitches will even out. Wait until you have all of it done and seamed together, then throw it in the machine.

sue
THIS ROCKS   Logged

sue
kitty1256
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2007 10:12:12 AM »

can i just iron it, or will that wreck it?  like if i press it on a really low setting?
THIS ROCKS   Logged

knitbit
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2007 11:08:34 AM »

Do not iron it!  Acrylic will melt if you apply that kind of heat to it.  You may ruin your iron as well.
THIS ROCKS   Logged

Pics
Blog

"All art is subversive." -Pablo Picasso
elijor
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2007 11:14:00 AM »