A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Join us for fun, contests and discussions on Craftster's Facebook page!
Total Members: 298,764
Currently Running With Scissors:
563 Guests and 20 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: flaxseed?  (Read 1017 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

owalkerjillo

Ve**ns rule :D

View Profile WWW
« on: December 27, 2006 11:46:33 AM »

I recieved the book Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and looking through them, one ingredient that I've never used before popped up in 99% of the cupcake recipes. Ground Flaxseed. What is this and what will it do? Where can I get it? Can I replace it with anything? I normally have no problem finding most ingredients at my local Shaws and when that fails (or I just want to go organic) I go to the local health food co-op. If I could find it at either of those places I'd be psyched. Is it expensive? As a teenaged vegan my parents, obviously, front most of my food costs and I hate to ask for obscure ingedients that they have never heard of and cost a fortune.

thanks!

edit: I just googled flaxseed and saw that it can be used as an eggreplacer, I'm assuming this is what miss Moskowitz uses it for in her recipes however, could I use my enerG?? The website I looked at said about 1tbsp flaxseed so could I just sub that out for 1 1/2 tsp enerG?
« Last Edit: December 27, 2006 11:49:55 AM by owalkerjillo » THIS ROCKS   Logged

OKmetro

where the hell is my moustache?

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2006 11:53:38 AM »