A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: You can now organize your bookmarks into folders!  Read more here.
Total Members: 299,189
Currently Running With Scissors:
643 Guests and 11 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1] 2 3  All
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: soften Red Heart yarn?  (Read 11539 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

KatintheCappello
« on: September 02, 2006 08:21:22 AM »

Hello everyone!

I am a low-income student and restricted to generic, synthetic 'red heart' types of yarn right now to make my winter scarves. My problem is that they come out so starchy and scratchy, and I prefer to give gifts of soft lusciousness!!

What good methods do you use to make sub-par yarns more touchable, if any?
THIS ROCKS   Logged

Katarina's Closet - Custom Crochet and Craft shop
Kiera
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2006 08:29:02 AM »

Red Heart Soft yarn (available at A.C. Moore, bigger JoAnn's, online, etc) is only a few cents more per skein than Super Saver and feels *much* better against skin. Caron Simply Soft feels pretty nice and is usually about the same price (or even less, sometimes) than Super Saver.

For stuff you've already made with RHSS, you can try liquid fabric softener.
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Lothruin
Friend of Craftster Friend of Craftster

I eat seakittens.

View Profile WWW available for personal swaps
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2006 08:44:10 AM »