A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Do you have a crafty tattoo?  We'd love to feature it in our Crafty Tattoos blog series!  Share it with us here!
Total Members: 296,699
Currently Running With Scissors:
637 Guests and 28 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Need some help  (Read 443 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

TokyoSnow
« on: October 03, 2006 09:20:22 PM »

I've been doing cross stitch for a few years now but I know I'm doing it wrong. I have no idea how to make the picture fit on the canvas from the pattern. I haven't figured that out yet. Please help me.
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Mrsblocko

It's not only sticious, it's SUPER!

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2006 10:07:55 AM »

I think I understand what you are asking.  Please correct me if I'm wrong. I like to find the center of the design on the pattern paper. I will mark that with a pencil.  Then I fold the fabric in quarters.  At the point where all the folds meet I will put a little loop of thread, and loosely tie the ends together.  So you've now got a floppy loose loop of thread where the center of your fabric is.  I usually stitch from the middle out. 

You can also do what is called gridding.   It is tedious and time consuming but will save you a lot of heartache in the end, esp if it is a large design.  Most patterns have darker lines for every 10th square.  If you baste a row horizontally and verticaly for every 10th square on your fabric, you will have a grid on your fabric that matches the one on your fabric.