A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
News:  Vote now for your favorite craft challenge entry!  THREE amazing Ticketmaster prizes up for grabs this month.  Who will get one?
Total Members: 301,635
Currently Running With Scissors:
649 Guests and 23 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

Pages: [1]
Jump to page:
  Show Images Only     Send this topic  |  Print  |  Bookmark  
Topic: Easy project for a new knitter?  (Read 733 times)
Tags for this thread:  Add new tag
Share the love... Pin it Submit to reddit add to Wists
1+

ABitofEverything
« on: July 02, 2006 12:26:45 AM »

I am just learning how to knit and have finally mastered the knit and purl stitch.  I can cast on, bind off and that is it.  I am finishing up my first dish cloth.  I am now ready to move on to bigger and better things!  I don't really want to make a scarf as my mom has knit many of them for each member of our family so I'd really prefer to do something different.  Anyone have any ideas for an easy project for a new knitter?  It's okay if it involves increasing, decreasing, patterning, etc.  I'd just like to not tackle everything new at once!  I have a 5 yo dd I sew for so it'd be great if it were something for her.  I don't feel ready to tackle dpns quite yet, but would be willing to try circs.  I eventually hope to make sweaters and socks  but am looking for a stepping stone project in the meanwhile. Smiley
THIS ROCKS   Logged
Obsessed Knitter
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2006 12:43:14 AM »

Hmm, I would recommend a couple of things, and see which one catches your eye:

A hat in the round - great practice knitting/purling and no decreases until several inches in