A Crafts Community For Craft Ideas & DIY Projects - Craftster.org
Help | About | Contact | Press | Advertise | Terms | Site Map
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Random Tip: Did you know you can view all images posted by a member? Learn how here!
Total Members: 297,488
Currently Running With Scissors:
638 Guests and 34 Users
Home Craftster Community Crafting Articles Craft Tutorials My Craftster Crafting Calendar City Guides Craft Shop

  Show Posts
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
1  COOKING / Vegetarian / Vegan / Re: Why are you Vegetarian/Vegan? on: July 07, 2014 07:51:53 PM
I feel a little out of place.  I love meat.  Beef, pork, turkey, chicken, but...it doesnt like me.  If I eat red meat, I feel like I have a rock in my stomach for 3-4 days afterwards. Poultry only lasts for a day or two.  It is no way to live feeling that awful all the time, so I stopped eating meat last September.  I have way less stomach problems now and feel much better.  So it is more of a personal health choice than a social statement or anything for me.  My husband is a vegetarian 95% of the time now because he eats what I cook. LOL
2  COOKING / Vegetarian / Vegan / Re: Favorite vegan recipes? on: July 07, 2014 07:37:50 PM
I am in the middle of moving or I'd take some pictures, but here are some of my favorite vegan dishes...

Appetizer:
Buffalo Cauliflower http://www.peta.org/living/food/spicy-buffalo-cauliflower-wings/  (This recipe has been approved by my meat eating family members, as well as the vegetarians.)

Main dishes:
Moroccan Spiced Spaghetti Squash http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2009/11/moroccan-spiced-spaghetti-squash/  (I use olive oil instead of butter)
Celery Root Puree with Herbed Beets http://ahouseinthehills.com/2013/10/4/celery-root-puree-with-herbed-beets/
Spaghetti Squash with Lime Peanut Sauce  http://www.thefirstmess.com/2013/03/06/spaghetti-squash-noodle-bowl-lime-peanut-sauce/
Balsamic Beets and Lentils  http://www.scalingbackblog.com/savory-bites/balsamic-beets-and-lentils/  (use agave or whatever you like instead of honey)
Thai Black Pepper and Garlic Tofu http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2012/05/thai-black-pepper-and-garlic-tofu.html
Sweet Chili Lime Tofu with Steamed Greens and Quinoa  http://veganyumyum.com/2008/06/sweet-chili-lime-tofu-with-wok-steamed-collards-and-quinoa/
Tofu and Ramen Noodles  http://www.olivesfordinner.com/2013/06/quick-and-easy-tofu-with-ramen-noodles.html
Spaghetti with Chick Peas and Capers  http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/spaghetti-chickpeas-capers-00100000117738/index.html
Honey Lime Sweet Potato, Black Bean and Corn Tacos  http://www.cookingclassy.com/2013/09/honey-lime-sweet-potato-black-bean-and-corn-tacos/  (leave off the cheese)
Black Bean and Veggie Burgers http://veganinthefreezer.com/2012/11/01/black-bean-burgers-recipe/

Soups:
Caramelized Fennel Roasted Garlic Tomato Soup http://thegoudalife.tumblr.com/post/46849097470/speedy-meatless-monday-caramelized-fennel-roasted
Fennel and Celery Soup http://figandhoney.co/2013/12/28/fennel-celery-soup/
Garlic, Leek and Artichoke Soup  http://www.cestlavegan.com/2010/03/vegetarian-times-garlicky-leek-artichoke-soup/

Dessert:
Brownies  http://minimalistbaker.com/simple-vegan-brownies/

Those are just my favorites that I make again and again.  Even the meat eaters in my family like them, except the tofu.  They dont care for tofu.  I made most of these before I decided to become vegetarian.   I havent made the leap to vegan, but like to eat vegan a few times a week.
3  NEEDLEWORK / Needlework: Completed Projects / Re: Nerdist "Find Your Tribe" Cross Stitch on: August 23, 2012 03:32:03 PM
Very cool!  My husband and I have just started watching their BBC America show.  I havent tried the podcasts yet though.
4  ORGANIZED CRAFT SWAPS / The Swap Gallery / Re: E-gadget cover/case Swap Gallery on: June 13, 2012 05:55:14 PM
That Doctor Who cover is the most awesome cover ever!  What's it made out of??  I'd love to know how she/he did it too.
5  ORGANIZED CRAFT SWAPS / The Swap Gallery / Re: Mug Rug Swap R4 Gallery (send out: 6/5/2012) on: June 09, 2012 12:18:26 PM
Love the tea bubbles mug rug!  What an awesome idea!  My husband said it should be named Tea Dreams.
6  QUILTING / Quilting: Completed Projects / Re: Invasion of the Daleks (DOCTOR WHO) Quilt on: June 08, 2012 10:12:03 PM
Amazing! Your friends are very luck!  My husband wants me to learn to quilt now. LOL
7  JEWELRY AND TRINKETS / Trinkets and Jewelry: Completed Projects: General / Re: Wire Wrapped Agate Geode Seahorse Pendant on: May 31, 2012 08:26:48 PM
Stunning!  Makes me want to try wire wrapping.
8  NEEDLEWORK / Needlework: Completed Projects / Re: The Kraken!! on: May 29, 2012 10:30:00 AM
Love it!  You did a wonderful job. I can see how you had a hard time letting it go. Smiley
9  NEEDLEWORK / Needlework: Completed Projects / No, Gorn, No! That's Where I sit. Big Bang Theory/Star Trek on: May 28, 2012 03:18:39 PM
My husband loves Big Bang Theory and Star Trek, so the episode of BBT where Sheldon sees a Gorn sitting in his spot made my husband's day.  I decided to make a seat topper for his computer chair with that quote and found a pattern for a Gorn from http://black-lupin.deviantart.com/art/19-Mini-Star-Trek-Cross-Stitch-141822942.  It was stitched with DMC floss on a scrap piece of linen a friend gave me because she hated the hand dyed colors.



A close-up:


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQqpyUuin5M  A link to the clip of BBT with that quote.
10  PURSES, BAGS, WALLETS / Purses, Bags, Wallets: Completed Projects: General / Re: Tote bags + Chalkboard paint= Muahahaha on: May 24, 2012 06:46:14 PM
I totally want some chalkboard paint now!  These are so adorable.  I am in love with the Bit Me Cupcake.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4


FacebookTwitterPinterest
only results with images
include swap threads
advanced search



your ad could be here!

How-To Videos
Inventory Book Trailer
Promises Book Trailer
Shoptimism Book Trailer
Return to Beauty Book Trailer
Bestselling Author Stephen King Talks About Under the Dome
Latest Blog Articles
September 19th - Talk Like a Pirate Day!
Winner of Craft Challenge #102 - Swap & Share 3
September 17, 2014 Featured Projects

Comparison Shopping




Support Craftster
Become a
Friend of Craftster

Buy Craftster Swag
Buy Craft Supplies
Comparison Shopping

Craftster heartily thanks the following peeps...
Moderators

Follow Craftster...






Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
SimplePortal 2.3.5 © 2008-2012, SimplePortal
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Copyright ©2003-2014, Craftster.org an Internet Brands company.